An SF and Fantasy Bibliography

The Shaping of Middle-earth. 1986
Search the Site
 Advanced Search

Follow Us / Contact Us

Links to Bibliographies

Alan Dean Foster

Eddie Jones

The Big Three
--- Isaac Asimov
--- Arthur C. Clarke
--- Robert A. Heinlein

J.R.R. Tolkien
--- Introduction
--- Bibliography

Lin Carter

Patrick Moore

Philip E. High

Richard C. Meredith

Robert Silverberg

Robert E. Vardeman

Fighting Fantasy

Science Fiction Magazines

Science Fiction and Fantasy Series

SF Universes and Fantasy Worlds

Back to previous page Record Number: 21520
The Shaping of Middle-earth. 1986 The Shaping of Middle-earth
by J.R.R. Tolkien
Edited by Christopher Tolkien
First Edition 1986
George Allen & Unwin
ISBN 0048232793
Hardback in dust jacket
Jacket design by Marilyn Carvell
viii, 392 pages
Price: £14.95

The Shaping of Middle-earth, a collection of writings by J.R.R. Tolkien, edited with preface, commentary and index by Christopher Tolkien.

Volume 4 of the The History of Middle-earth series.

Published on 21 August 1986.

Various maps and diagrams by J.R.R. Tolkien appear between pages 220 and 221 and on pages 228, 231, 243, 245, 247, 249 and 251.

Details of all British editions of The Shaping of Middle-earth can be found at TolkienBooks.net.

Blurb – Dust Jacket Flap
The writings of J.R.R. Tolkien included in this book have been given the title The Shaping of Middle-earth because in them is seen a great advance in the chronological and geographical structure of the legends of Middle-earth and Valinor. The hitherto wholly unknown Ambarkanta or ‘Shape of the World’ is the only account ever given of the nature of the imagined Universe, and it is accompanied by diagrams and maps of the world before and after the cataclysms of the War of the Gods and the Downfall of Númenor. The first map of Beleriand, in the North-west of Middle-earth, is also reproduced and discussed. In the Annals of Valinor and the Annals of Beleriand the chronology of the First Age is given shape; and with these are given the fragments of the translations into Anglo-Saxon made by Ælfwine, the Englishman who voyaged into the True West and came to Tol Eressëa, the Lonely Isle, where he learned the ancient history of Elves and Men. Also included are the original ‘Silmarillion’, written in 1926, from which all the later development proceeded, and the Quenta Noldorinwa of 1930, the only version of the myths and legends of the First Age that J.R.R. Tolkien completed to their end.

This is the fourth volume of The History of Middle-earth, edited by Christopher Tolkien, the first two comprising The Book of Lost Tales Parts I and II, and the third The Lays of Beleriand.

If you are looking for new, secondhand or out-of-print books then AbeBooks UK may be able to help.
Alternatively, you can search and order through AbeBooks.com.
AbeBooks.com. Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.
Text © Neil Holford and SFandFantasy.co.uk 2011-2022 --- Images and quoted text remain copyright of the publishers, artists and authors